The Big Reveal!

So, the week has come and gone and I have been diligent in my efforts to keep at my goal of improving my habitat and thereby my life.

Taking on organization first was a stroke of genius because a) I don’t have to think too hard about it. Having worked in finance and admin for many years I am educated to the use of a good filing system, and b) it has meant that my bills got paid on time this month and my tax returns  filed (refund, yay!). What I didn’t anticipate was that it would throw up a whole host of new projects. For example by going through files that I don’t usually pick up I noticed that my husband’s passport is almost expired. Not good when all our family live overseas. I also came across pictures which needed to be framed, or hung, or mended then framed then hung or … well you get my drift. I also came across many many old and dried up pens. Of every variety, with logos for companies I have never heard of. “Where do these all come from?”, I kept finding myself muttering, while tossing them into the bin (US translation: trash).

after this happening to my shredder several times I sent the rest to work with the husband
Shredder issues above: after this happening several times I gave up and sent the rest to work with my husband. I have no idea what he did with them. They could be propping up his desk but I hope they made it into the secure shredding bin.

But the real breakthrough came on day four. I was sorting through another mound of dried up pens and musing to myself, “Why do I have more than one spare wireless mouse, and what exactly is the plural for a wireless mouse? Mice? Mouses? Meece?” and I had a lightbulb moment. I am great at this! I am great at change, I love it. I like transformations, the drama of them. I leave my hair until it is half way down my back before I get it cut. I haven’t had a trim in 25 years. I love spring cleaning, but hate sweeping the floor. When I worked outside the home I would go into an office, put in procedures, get everything ordered and optimized and then move on. It’s my MO. I am a job hopper, I am a yo-yo dieter.  I have never been able to maintain a healthy weight. I love hgtv for those reveals. I’m addicted to reveals! I love creating order out of chaos but do I create chaos so I can have the payoff of the transformation? Yikes! Heavy stuff to come from some dried up old pens.

The next few days I spent being mindful of my habit of ignoring maintenance tasks. I ended up getting so much accomplished. Just knowing that leaving the breakfast dishes was a conscious decision to create a tiny makeover later made me stop and do it. My mother loved an old saying, any saying really she wasn’t particular. But the one which has been with me this week is: “A stitch in time saves nine.” I’ve heard it so many times it sort of lost its meaning but it is true. By staying on top of the routine you create less drama in your life and leave time for much more interesting things than sifting through 42 pens which don’t work to find a stamp.

I’ll just have to find my drama another way.

Next week’s topic: health.

Leave a Reply

